Home     About Me     Features     Fave Places to Party!
Crafting      Home Improvement & Decor     Digital Scrapping     Reading

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Book Review: Sierra Jensen Collection, Vol. 1

Book Description:
Happenstance…or God’s Great Plan? 

She’s the bold, free-spirited type. She’s cute, she’s fun, and she’s following God. She’s Sierra Jensen, Christy Miller’s good friend, ready for her junior year of high school! All twelve books in the popular Sierra Jensen series come together in four volumes to reveal the ups and downs of Sierra’s incredible God-led journey! 

Volume One: In Only You, Sierra, she’s nervous to be the “new girl” after her family moves to Portland and wonders if meeting Paul in London was only by chance. Just when everything important seems to elude her, all it takes is one weekend In Your Dreams to prove otherwise. But even a vacation doesn’t keep her troubles away in Don’t You Wish. 

Okay, not gonna lie, I did not enjoy this series.  It is highly unlikely that I would have ever picked it up on my own, and I most definitely wouldn't have bothered finishing.  (I used to feel compelled to finish every book I started...now, I think my time is far too valuable to waste on a book I am not enjoying.)  The only reason I read it was for the Blogging for Books program.  And it took me months to work up the gumption to get it over with.
You know, I like Young Adult fiction.  And I like Christian fiction.  So what about this left me repulsed?
Well, for starters, I disliked the main character.  I suppose she might have been a realistic portrayal of a teenager going through a major transition, but man she was irritating.
Also, the story felt abrupt.  And unbelievable at times.  And...silly.  Silly because that was not the attempt.  There's lighthearted fun silly books, and there's books that are not intended to be silly but are.  Being Christian fiction does not automatically place it in the category of good meaningful book.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...